Products and Technologies

TVEE: Trusted Virtual Execution Environment

The growth of mobile platform business has given rise to a variety of security problems. The current widespread security risks include the applications being hacked and data being, which caused great threat to financial data security, privacy protection and business data integrity. TEE is now a standard in the Google Android system, and the TEE and eSE based on chip and device security can provide high security guarantee for applications. There are integration concerns for security features of different devices as certain device security capability is not open for third-party developers. These concerns can be solved through customized solutions for each different type of device before using TEE. However this usually caused a long period of time and extremely high costs. TrustKernel's Trusted Virtual Execution Environment (TVEE) specialize in solving these problems for application developers by providing a unified TEE access and secure protections for applications.

The Trusted Virtual Execution Environment (TVEE) is a platform-level security execution environment for the application vendors to ensure the data security of applications by using TEE. Based on the unified security API and SDK of TVEE, the trusted application developed by the application developers can safely operate in all smart devices (including mobile phones, tablets, etc.) and platforms (including Android, iOS, etc.). TVEE, through making full use of the most secure mechanisms (including software and hardware mechanism such as ARM TrustZone, virtualization, Intel SGX, etc.) in devices, combined with the compiler security, code protection and white-box encryption methods, ensures the security of the application. On the security underlying level, TVEE uses TEE and advanced code protection technology. By combining with TrustKernel’s back end flexible open trust backend, trusted application can be developed only once and run on smart devices.

At present, TVEE has been integrated into more than 100 types of hardware TEE compatible devices. With continuous increase in TEE coverage, devices that are compatible with TEE integration will become more common. TVEE hardware secure capability and efficiency can be expected to increase. Even in devices without TEE integrated, the compiler security, code protection, white box and other security schemes adopted by TVEE is significantly better than other existing application security reinforcement measures in the industry.


About TVEE

"TVEE is a virtual TEE system for the application developers, which provides the security capability of a unified access device hardware for mass applications and enable financial-grade security standards. By providing an unified API and SDK to safely employ applications across different devices. For devices that have TEE installed, TVEE will be using the built-in TEE’s security capabilities as much as possible. In scenario that TEE is not installed in the device, TVEE will realize software level TEE standard by using various securities technologies such as software protection and white-box encryption."


Key Features

Unified development environment and interface

TVEE adopts a developing environment and interface completely consistent with TEE, and provides the developers with SDK based on the Global Platform TEE API. At the bottom implementation level, TVEE generates a unified binary code at compile time, which automatically selects the most secure and reliable environment execution at runtime. On the API, TVEE completely shields the differences between different TEE vendors and different underlying security schemes.

Convenient and flexible dynamic security management service

In addition to security, TVEE also provides flexible and convenient security service management and updating services, providing safe and controllable management channels for security applications. Technically, TVEE has a built-in reliable application management service. The service combines security architecture and credible application management by using techniques empirically verified by big banks. This is also the core technology that TEE uses to implement trusted service management.

Secure execution

TVEE supports application vendors to safely protect parts of the sensitive security codes (such as validation code, encryption algorithm, etc.) from spy and tamper to guarantee the security of sensitive code at runtime. In TVEE, the security codes between different application vendors are isolated from each other.

Secure storage and key protection

TVEE supports multiple secure storage methods, including hardware Secure RPMB and SFS(Secure File System) to ensure the safe storage of sensitive data. TVEE has a built-in comprehensive security and decryption algorithm, which guarantees the security of key generation, key operation and key storage through TEE and white box encryption technology.

Trusted UI

The user's daily input data including passwords, credit card accounts, SMS, etc., which may be stolen due to the defects in OS itself and the loopholes in the input method. At the same time, the UI content seen by user is easy to be screenshot or maliciously forged. The security UI (TUI) can build a secure channel from the user to the device, from the device to the application, to ensure the security of the user input and the content displayed on the screen.

User-driven attestation

TVEE can verify whether the content of an ordinary application is correctly displayed on the device screen, and whether the user has actually operated on the specified display element, to ensure "User Initiation"/"User Understanding"/"User Authentication". For example, in the scene of using advertising services, it is proved to the advertiser whether the displayed content is displayed correctly to the user, and whether the user has clicked the advertisement.

Case Studies

tvee use cases

产品与技术

TVEE: 可信应用执行环境

移动平台业务的繁荣的同时也催生了多样化的安全问题,目前应用普遍存在被破解、数据被窃取篡改等安全风险,对金融数据安全、个人隐私数据保护、业务数据完整性等造成极大的威胁。 可信执行环境TEE目前在Google Android系统已经成为标配,基于芯片和设备安全的可信执行环境TEE和eSE能够为应用提供高安全保障。然而由于不同设安全特性有差异化、设备安全能力不开放 等问题导致应用需要针对每一款型号的设备进行适配方能使用TEE,周期太长成本极高。瓶钵信息科技的可信应用执行环境(TrustKernel Trusted Virtual Execution Environment, TVEE)专 为应用厂商解决这些问题而生,为应用提供统一的TEE接入能力和安全保护。

可信应用执行环境TVEE是为应用厂商提供的平台级安全执行环境,确保应用数据安全。 基于TVEE统一的安全API和SDK,应用厂商开发的安全应用可以安全地运行在所有智能设备(包括手机、平板等)和平台(包括Android、iOS等)中。 TVEE通过充分利用设备中能被使用的最安全机制(包括软硬件机制如ARM TrustZone、虚拟化、Intel SGX等),结合编译器安全、代码保护、白盒加密等方式保障应用程序安全。 在底层安全上,TVEE基于设备中已广泛存在的TEE(如T6等)和成熟的代码保护技术,结合瓶钵信息科技后端灵活的开放信任协议,为应用提供接口统一、可动态实时更新的 开发和安全运行环境。

目前,TVEE接入的硬件TEE设备型号已经超过100款。随着TEE设备覆盖率的不断提升,具备硬件TEE能力的TVEE设备覆盖率在持续增加。 即使在没有硬件TEE环境的设备中,TVEE所采用的编译器安全、代码保护、白盒等安全方案在安全性上也显著优于业界现有的应用加固方案。


关于TVEE

“TVEE是一个面向应用厂商的虚拟TEE系统,为海量应用提供了统一接入设备硬件TEE的安全能力,赋能金融级安全标准。 它提供了统一的API和SDK将应用程序安全地部署到不同的手机中。 对于设备中存在TEE的,TVEE将尽可能地使用内置的TEE的安全能力; 对于设备中尚未存在TEE的,TVEE通过使用软件保护、白盒加密等安全技术 实现一个软件级的TEE。”


核心特性

统一的开发环境与接口

TVEE采用与TEE完全一致的开发环境与接口,为开发者提供基于Global Platform TEE API的SDK。 在底层实现上,TVEE在编译时就产生统一的二进制代码,运行时自动选择最安全 可靠的环境执行。在API上,TVEE完全屏蔽了不同TEE厂商、不同底层安全方案间的差异。

方便、灵活的动态安全管理服务

除了安全,TVEE还提供了灵活方便的安全服务管理与更新服务,为安全应用提供安全可控的管理渠道。 技术上,TVEE内置了可信应用管理服务,该服务使用经过大型银行实证的技术将安全架构与可信应用管理结合起来,这也是 TEE用于实现可信服务管理的核心技术。

安全执行

TVEE支持应用厂商将一部分安全敏感的代码(如验证代码、加密算法等)安全地保护起来执行,运行时防窥探防篡改,保证敏感代码运行时的安全性。 在TVEE中,不同应用厂商之间的安全代码互相隔离执行互不干扰。

安全存储与密钥保护

TVEE支持多种安全存储方式,包括基于硬件安全的RPMB和SFS(Secure File System),确保敏感数据的存储安全。 TVEE内置全面的安全加解密算法,通过TEE以及白盒加密技术保证密钥产生、密钥运算、密钥存储的安全。

安全UI

用户日常的输入数据包括密码、信用卡账号、SMS等很可能由于操作系统本身的缺陷、有漏洞的输入法等而遭到窃取; 同时用户所看到的UI内容也容易被截屏、恶意伪造。 安全UI(TUI)能够建立一个从用户到设备、从设备到应用的安全通道,保证用户输入、屏幕显示的内容的安全。

基于用户行为的认证(UI Attestation)

TVEE 能够验证普通应用程序的显示内容是否正确地显示在设备屏幕中以及用户是否真正有对指定的显示元素进行了操作, 确保"User Initiation"/"User Understanding"/"User Authentication"。例如在广告服务使用场景上, 向广告商证明广告展示内容是否正确地展示给了用户,以及用户是否有点击广告。

典型案例

tvee use cases